PEP TALK

Posted in Japan by spookylove on November 3, 2009

R1139775

The past two weeks have been pretty hellish. I’ve been so incredibly homesick that I have been pricing up flights to come home. After barely 3 months.

I made a decision last night. I will definitely stay here until at least February – for the sole reason that my best friend is due to fly out and stay with me for a couple of weeks in January (I’m so excited about this, Jenny when you get here you are getting the biggest most uncomfortably long hug the world has ever seen) and then when you think about that, February to August? Piece of cake man.

I don’t know what has pushed me into this over the top “I WANT TO SEE MY FAMILY ARGHHH” mode, but at least it’s made me realise that shit, I have a great family and if i’m yearning to see them this badly, then that can only be a good thing. Unless it means i’m a total wimp who wants her momma. Well, fuck it, I DO want to see my momma. And my cats, who clearly mean an unhealthy amount to me. I’m going to not be too ashamed about this, because I think it took all my courage just to get on that flight out here and the rest is a bonus.

Okay, the job I have out here is….terrible. I’m not going to gloss over this fact because dreading work every day doesn’t help the homesickness at all. When you’re at home and your job sucks you can just go out with some favourite people and make light of it. Here, i’m surrounded (literally, in my apartment block) by the gimps I work with, and theres no way to avoid work, I see my colleagues every fucking day, even on a sunday taking out the bins. In their pijamas. I can’t even tell you how much I dislike the people I work with, they are all guys. And they are all tools.

However, the girls who started here at the same time as me are fantastic. We all enjoy each other’s company and have a great time. That, and knowing I can skype home regularly is pretty much all that’s keeping me sane right now. And, the obvious fact: I’m living in Tokyo. I can’t tell you how many insane (honestly, insane. Hello doggy fitting rooms and toilet musak!) things i’m seeing every day, it all kills me. This definitely isn’t a place I’d choose to live permanently, for various reasons, but it does have it’s good points, namely Rilakkuma (I’m rapidly realising I have the same tastes as an 8 year old Japanese girl) and lovely, impossibly polite people. Honestly, it’s the other westerners here that fucking freak me out, I got stalked by a giant American last week, who “just wanted to talk”.

Wow, long post about misery. Sorry about that. Who wants to talk cute kitten pictures and halloween candy?? I’m going out now to go watch a Japanese film, I have no idea what it’s called but the trailer looked incredible, like a really bad teen love film set in a high school in Japan, all dramatic and weepy and AWESOME.

x

Leave a Reply

