happy birthday jesus pt 2

Posted in Japan by spookylove on December 23, 2009

I had a really fun day on Tuesday, maybe one of my favourite days since i’ve been here. In the morning I got up at half 6 and was on the train to work by 8.00 am and finished at around 11.00 am (!!) I then had to go run some errands for my japanese boss Yoshiko, and then I was allowed to roam free in the afternoon. I went home and got changed and then set off by myself into Tokyo. I went to Ikebukuro today, a few stops down from Shibuya and Harajuku – it’s home to Sunshine City, one of the most insane places I have ever, ever, been to. It contains hotels, an aquarium, a gigantic shopping mall, a planetarium, restaurants and an observatory. Next door to Sunshine City is Tokyu Hands. There are lots of branches of Tokyu Hands but this one is special because on the top floor is THE CAT HOUSE. I walked up the stairs to be greeted by a beautiful rendition of “Jingle Bells” sung only in miaows. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

After giggling for quite some time I took some pictures then got the hell out of there before I gave in and paid money to pet a bunch of cats. I got super tired at one point and got coffee, and a japanese girl came over and sat with me because she wanted to tell me I was “cute and looked like Jane Birkin”. I said thank you, clearly she was blind but still I thought it was sweet, and as I love Jane Birkin and Lou Doillon we sat happily and had a great talk about beautiful French women. We also talked about England and exchanged numbers, I have a new friend.

I then came back home and ate sushi with my favourite person in Japan. My favourite until JENNY-GETS-HERE-OMG-HUHUH-UHHAAARGHHH-CAN’T-FUCKING-WAIT. Love you.

I have a really good photo to show you of the cat house but my stupid phone is stupidly japanese and I can take photos with it but sadly have no idea how to transfer them. Lets just all close our eyes and picture a giant cat’s mouth with an automatic door in the centre beyond which lies 30 cats just waiting to be stroked and petted and held. While various Christmas songs are miaowed at you. For those of you who can’t imagine anything that incredible, BEHOLD: (thanks google, now go find me some skeet ulrich circa 90s photos)

I’m still not excited for Christmas, I think I’m broken.

X

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jenny said, on December 24, 2009 at 6:40 AM

    ONLY 3 WEEKS TO GO! X


Leave a Reply

