This is so bad it’s gone past good and back to bad again

Posted in bunnies and kittens, Japan, sick sad world by spookylove on June 30, 2010

This job is the worst. Teaching is the worst. I made a 7 year old girl cry today, I got so frustrated at her because she’s a total airhead and does that thing where she’ll answer a second later than the other kid and spend the rest of the time melodramatically spread out across the table, day dreaming. Ugh, did I mention she was 7? And also has one arm in a sling? No sympathy for a one armed kid…I think I lack the compassion to be a teacher. Or to work with other humans in any capacity.

See? I’m going insane. Get me a job in a small room with a monkey at my side.

I’m making a list of squeeze-every-last-experience-out-of-Japan things to do here, this is my list so far:

Go to Kyoto – Kyoto is about 2 hours away from me on the Shinkansen, I’m going to stay in a hostel for a couple of days to sight see. Kyoto is the oldest part of Japan, and is basically historic temple and geisha heaven. Plan to do this next month when we have a long weekend.

Climb Mt. Fuji – Maybe late July? I need to um, train myself to stand up for longer than an hour. TRAINING MONTAGE. I’m excited about the hiking outfit, cute boots. We plan to do this overnight so we can watch the sun rise from the top of Mt. Fuji. It’s supposed to take the average person 6 hours to climb. I will allow myself 2 days, or will look into hiring a personal Sherpa to drag my lifeless body up the mountain.

Sapporo, Hokkaido – Planning to get a flight up north to Hokkaido in Obon week, our week long holiday in August. Very excited about this, Hokkaido is like a dream place for me for some reason.

These are the big events. I’m also making a list of local places I haven’t explored thoroughly, like Asakusa, Shimo-Kitazawa, Akihabara (Electric Town) Hakone and other places away from Tokyo itself. I feel scared to come home. At least I won’t have to teach moronic children the months of the year at home. Hurray.

X

Leave a Reply

